11th Annual
State Barbeque Championship
April 11-12, 2014
Jones Park - Osage City, KS

Smoke in the Spring


April 11-12, 2014 marks the 11th year of the Smoke in the Spring State BBQ Championship. Over the previous ten years the Smoke in the Spring has expanded into one of the premiere BBQ contests in the Midwest. The Smoke in the Spring has attracted teams and judges to Osage City from Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Colorado, Illinois, Wisconsin, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Georgia, Oregon, Hawaii, and Minnesota.

Our 10th Anniversary in 2013 was very special because the Smoke in the Spring was selected by the Destination America TV show "BBQ Pitmasters" to host a Season 5 episode --- Episode #6, "Kicking It In KC". Myron Mixon, Tuffy Stone, and the rest of the BBQ Pitmasters crew came to Osage City to film 3 competing teams turn in turkey legs and brisket point. Our episode winner, Lynnae Oxley (Sugar’s Championship Barbecue, Portland, Oregon), along with 2013 Smoke in the Spring Reserve Champion Rod Gray (Pellet Envy, Leawood, KS), and Top 10 Smoke in the Spring finisher Dave Bouska (Butcher’s BBQ, Chandler, OK) ended up competing in the BBQ Pitmasters Season 5 Grand Finale. Rod Grey won the Grand Finale finishing as BBQ Pitmasters Season 5 Grand Champion.

The Smoke in the Spring is a sanctioned KCBS (Kansas City BBQ Society) contest, and designated as a State BBQ Championship. With this designation and over $10,000 in prize money awarded each year, Osage City has created a signature BBQ event for teams and judges and a community event Osage City and Osage County can support and embrace. Our goal is to annually offer our participants, judges, sponsors, and the public the very best BBQ competition possible.

BBQ E-Booklet


Entry Form

The entry deadline for the 2014 contest is March 28, 2014 while space is available.

Download the (PDF: ~241 KB)

BBQ Pitmasters

Season 5, Episode 6, "Kicking It in KC"

Smoke in the Spring would like to Congratulate all 3 teams who competed in the BBQ Pitmaster Grand Finale (all attended the 2013 Smoke in the Spring too) --- Butcher’s BBQ (Dave Bouska), Sugar’s Championship Barbeque (Lynnae Oxley), and Season 5 BBQ Pitmasters Grand Champion Pellet Envy (Rod Gray)

Congratulations to all of our winners.

2013 Results

GRAND CHAMPION --- Grillin Beavers (Thornton, CO)
RESERVE CHAMPION --- Pellet Envy (Leawood, KS)
CHICKEN CLASS CHAMPION --- Whiskey Pit BBQ Company (Lindsborg, KS)
RIBS CLASS CHAMPION --- Pork Me Purple (Overland Park, KS)
PORK BUTT CLASS CHAMPION --- Dodge County Smokers (Mission, KS)
BRISKET CLASS CHAMPION --- Grillin Beavers (Thornton, CO)


If you have any questions, need to make advance arrangements, or you have been accepted and cannot attend, contact:

Corey Linton
Phone: 785-528-4610
Email: rec@osagecity.com

Smoke in the Spring Logo